During the restoration of the monument after the fire of 1917, several trenches were opened in the naos and the crypt. Systematic excavations were carried out in 1946-49.
Restoration of the church was undertaken immediately after the catastrophe of 1917. Work was stopped in 1938 and was again resumed in 1946. The monument was rebuilt and started to function again in 1949. Today the monument is used as a church.
In the crypt of Aghios Demetrios, an exhibition is on display to the public. It includes the items that survived the fire of 1917 and those that were brought to light by the recent excavations in the monument.